
 

HEALTH CLUBS:  
Canceling that membership 
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Trap 
 

Debbie called Consumer Affairs for help in resolving a $3,000 debt which 
appeared on her credit report. For the New Year last year, Debbie planned to 
become a lean, muscle machine at the studio gym 10 minutes from her Lantana 
home. She visited the studio, toured the facility, and signed papers during her 
visit. Three days later she changed her mind. Since the salesperson accepted 
her verbal cancellation, she thought the membership was cancelled. Ten months 
later this debt appeared on her credit report?  

 

Tips 

Here are some important tips to help prevent from finding unwanted charges 
after cancelling a gym or health studio contract: 

 Florida statute prohibits verbal health studio contracts. If asked to sign 
something, carefully read before signing. If you are offered free use of the 
facilities or membership extensions at no charge, make sure it is clearly stated 
in the contract 

 When joining a studio, the contract can be canceled within 3 days of signing 
(exclusive of legal holidays and weekends). Your written cancellation notice 
should be sent by certified mail to the address listed on the contract. Keep 
copies of everything. A verbal cancellation is no cancellation 

 Many gyms charge an initiation or enrollment fee. These fees are usually non-
refundable, even if you cancel within 3 days 

 The gym must refund the unused portion of your membership funds within 30 
days if you cancel your membership contract for any valid reason allowed 
under the law 
 

Health studio contracts are regulated by Florida statute through the Florida 
Department of Agriculture--Consumer Services. If you have a dispute involving 
one of the over 150 health studios licensed in Palm Beach County, we may be 
able to assist with mediating a settlement or we can help link you to the proper 
state agency 
 

 


