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Retiree Group Insurance Information – 2024 
 

ELIGIBILITY 
 

As required by Florida Law (112.0801) Palm Beach County makes available to retirees the same medical and dental plan 
benefits that active employees have. For this purpose, retirees are defined as follows: 

A. An employee who retires under a state retirement system or a state optional annuity or retirement program or is 
placed on disability retirement and who begins receiving retirement benefits immediately after retirement from 
employment. 

 

B. In addition to the requirements stated in “A” above, any officer or employee who retires under the Florida 
Retirement System Investment Plan is considered a retiree if he or she meets the age and service requirements to 
qualify for normal retirement as set forth in Florida State Statutes 121.021(29): 

“Normal retirement date” means the date a member attains normal retirement age and is vested, which is 
determined as follows: 

If a Regular Class member, a Senior Management Service Class member, or an Elected Officers’ Class member 
initially enrolled: 

1. Before July 1, 2011: 
a. The first day of the month the member attains age 62; or 
b. The first day of the month following the date the member completes 30 years of creditable service, regardless 

of age. 
2. On or after July 1, 2011: 
a. The first day of the month the member attains age 65; or 
b. The first day of the month following the date the member completes 33 years of creditable service, regardless 

of age. 

Effective July 1, 2001, through June 30, 2011, a 6-year vesting requirement shall be implemented for the Florida 
Retirement System Pension Plan: 
1. Any member employed in a regularly established position on July 1, 2001, who completes or has completed a 

total of 6 years of creditable service is considered vested. 
2. Any member not employed in a regularly established position on July 1, 2001, shall be deemed vested upon 

completion of 6 years of creditable service if such member is employed in a covered position for at least 1 
work year after July 1, 2001. However, a member is not required to complete more years of creditable service 
than would have been required for that member to vest under retirement laws in effect before July 1, 2001. 

3. Any member initially enrolled in the Florida Retirement System on July 1, 2001, through June 30, 2011, shall 
be deemed vested upon completion of 6 years of creditable service. 

Any member initially enrolled in the Florida Retirement System on or after July 1, 2011, shall be vested in the pension 
plan upon completion of 8 years of creditable service. 

 
 

 
C. An employee who has the years of service required for vesting and who has attained age 59 ½ (as specified by  
s. 72(t)(2)(A)(i) of the Internal Revenue Code) who retires under the Investment Plan. 
  

D. An employee retiring under another County sponsored retirement plan. 
 

NOTE: Whether A, B, C or D, the retiree must start a monthly benefit payment immediately to be eligible for continued 
coverage. 

 



2 of 5 --- 12/12/2023 rev. 02/01/2024 

 

Eligible retirees must enroll in the plan within 31 calendar days of retirement, if they wish to participate in 
retiree benefits.  Enrollments received outside of this deadline will not be accepted, nor will the annual open 
enrollment periods apply to this plan. 
 

PAYMENTS 

Retirees are required to pay by deduction from their Florida Retirement System (FRS) checks, if possible. The deduction 
is taken from the check you receive at the end of the month. For example, you will receive your October FRS retirement 
check on or about October 31 --- your payment for November retiree group insurance coverage will be deducted from 
that check. As FRS retirees are paid at the end of the month, an initial self-payment typically will be required at the time 
of retirement, depending on your elections as follows: 

 If you elect dental or retiree life coverage, an initial self-payment is NOT required and a double deduction of the 
applicable dental and/or life premiums will be processed with FRS for the initial pension check to bring your deductions 
up to date.

 Due to the cost of medical coverage and to minimize any impact on your FRS retirement check, if you elect 
medical coverage only, or medical coverage in addition to dental or retiree life coverage, you will be required to 
submit a check or money order for one month of retiree premium collection made out to "Palm Beach County - Board 
of County Commissioners " to Risk Management, along with your retiree coverage election forms. Subsequent monthly 
premiums will be collected from your FRS pension checks.

Any retiree not a part of FRS, or whose pension is not sufficient to cover the insurance premium as well as FRS 
Investment Plan members, will be set up for premium collections through a billing service designated by Risk 
Management.  Please note, automatic payment is the standard payment method for retiree premium payments with the 
billing service. 

 

CHANGES & RELOCATION 

Retirees can change plans only during open enrollment. 
 

United Healthcare medical program has a large network throughout Florida.  For the UHC HMO/POS plans, UHC is 
providing NHP Network Flex privileges outside Florida to retirees who reside in Florida, when traveling or for dependent 
students who attend college out of state.  In these cases, area access to the UHC Choice network (national network) will 
be available for non-emergent care – including primary care, specialists, and pharmacy services at the member’s 
network benefit level. 
 

Retirees who plan to move outside of Florida, who participate in the HMO or POS retiree health plan, are asked to 
contact UHC at Leslie_Smalley@uhc.com Tel: 561-233-5463 or Evelyn_Giraldo@uhc.com Tel: 561-233-5474 to confirm 
their network access and assist in the transition. 
 

Retirees who participate in the UHC CHOICE retiree medical plan, continue to have access to a national network.  
Although encouraged, the CHOICE plan does not require declaration of a Primary Care Physician, nor does the CHOICE 
plan require referrals to specialty care received from an in-network provider. 
 

The Solstice Basic and Enhanced DHMO plans are available in 48 counties in Florida, including Palm Beach, Broward, Hendry, 
Martin, Miami Dade, and St. Lucie, as well as regions in Georgia, New York, New Jersey and Connecticut; please check in 
advance if this plan has a network in the specific geographic area in which you will live at retirement, to ensure there is a 
network and in-network providers are available, as this plan does not have out of network benefits. 
 

Retiree group insurance payments are due on the first of each month; retirees must make the requirement payment no 
later than 30 calendar days of the due date to maintain coverage.  Retiree coverage is subject to the same carrier, plan, 
provider and rate changes as active employees. 
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RETIREE LIFE INSURANCE PLAN (RETIREE PAID) 
 

Eligible Retirees, as defined in the Eligibility section above, can purchase County group term life insurance for 
themselves at a flat rate regardless of age and health history through Securian Financial. The benefit is a choice of 
$5,000 or $10,000 in group term life insurance and the monthly premium is $13.25 and $26.50, respectively. 

You may be able to continue term life insurance coverage you had in place under Securian Financial upon retirement by 
converting it to a whole life policy. Conversion of coverage must be elected within 31 days of your retirement date. The 
premium for converted life insurance coverage is based on age and the coverage amount. Individuals who convert any 
eligible life coverage are issued an Adjustable Life Legend individual whole life policy. Previous basic and supplemental 
life insurance coverage that is in force upon retirement may be considered for conversion – minus any retiree term life 
coverage you may elect (e.g. $5,000 or $10,000 term life retiree coverage). The premium for converted life insurance is 
separate and in addition to the premiums of $13.25/$26.50 in retiree term life insurance that you may elect. 

Eligible Retirees must enroll in the plan within 31 days of retirement if they wish to participate. Enrollments received 
outside of this deadline will not be accepted, nor will the annual open enrollment periods apply to this plan. 

 

COST 
 

The following are the monthly costs in 2024. The cost, plans, carriers and/or administrators are subject to future 
changes. 

 

 Single 
Coverage 

Retiree + 1 
Dependent 

Family 
(Retiree + 2 or 
More Dependents) 

Overage Dependent 
Premium (Medical) 

Health – United Healthcare 

HMO $870.62 $1,798.36 $2,461.14 $522.00 

CHOICE (Open Access) $908.12 $1,872.36 $2,563.14 $545.00 

POS $962.36 $1,956.42 $2,680.40 $577.00 

Dental - Solstice Single 
Coverage 

Retiree + 1 
Dependent 

Retiree + 2 
Dependents 

Retiree + 3 or More 
Dependents 

Basic DHMO S700B-PBC $10.94 $18.70 $25.34 $33.44 

Enhanced DHMO S200B-PBC $14.04 $24.58 $30.42 $38.62 

Low PPO $17.20 $32.66 $39.96 $55.48 

High PPO $33.66 $64.52 $74.54 $105.42 

Premier PPO $41.72 $79.96 $92.38 $130.66 

Life – Securian Financial  

Term Life Coverage $5,000 $13.25  

Term Life Coverage $10,000 $26.50 
 

COMMON QUESTIONS: 
 

Q. Can my spouse or registered Domestic Partner keep the medical and/or dental insurance if I die or no longer need 
the coverage? For example, I am now over 65 but my spouse is not and still needs the coverage. 

A. Yes. 

Q. How soon do I need to apply for retiree group insurance before I actually retire? 
A. You should apply for retiree group insurance about two weeks prior to your retirement date, but not before you 

have given notice to your department. We recommend that you call Risk Management/Group Insurance at 561- 
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233-5400 for an appointment. We also recommend you contact the Retirement Coordinator in Human Resources 
561-616-6884 about your FRS retirement, Deferred Compensation, Social Security and any other interested parties. 

 

Q. What forms and paperwork are needed? 
A. Depending on your circumstances, most retirees must complete or provide the following: 

1. Application for Retirement Coverage. 
2. Florida Retirement Insurance Payroll Authorization Form. (This allows FRS to deduct your insurance 

premiums from your retirement checks and forward it to Palm Beach County).Depending on your benefit 
elections for retirement, you will need to complete one or more of the following enrollment forms: Health 
(UHC), Dental (Solstice), Life (Securian Financial). 

3. Authorization for Release of Health Information. 
 

Q. When does my active employee group coverage end? 
A. Your benefits end on the last day of the month in which you retire. 

Q. What should I know about UHC payments related to Medicare? 
A. Once you are retired, UHC pays only after Medicare pays. In making any payments, UHC will assume that the 
retiree/or spouse has elected Part B Medicare, regardless of Medicare enrollment. Medicare-eligible retirees are 
strongly encouraged to visit www.medicare.gov or call 1-800-MEDICARE to review premium & plan information. 
 

Retirees MUST understand that UHC will pay as a Secondary Plan as permitted by the Social Security Act of 1965.  

 
Details are found in the Summary Plan Description for your medical plan under Coordination of Benefits – Coordination of Benefits 
with Medicare section.  
    

IMPORTANT: When Medicare is the Primary Payer related to retirees: 

Medicare will be the primary payer and the UHC plan will be the secondary payer, even if you, or your Medicare eligible spouse, or 
your Medicare eligible dependent don’t elect to enroll in Medicare or you receive services from a provider who does not accept 
Medicare payments, in the following situations as applicable to retirement: 
 

Retirement or Termination of Employment: You, your spouse, or your covered dependent qualify for Medicare for 

any reason and are covered under this plan due to your retirement or termination of employment. 
 

COBRA or State Continuation: You, your spouse, or your covered dependent qualify for Medicare for any reason and are covered 
under the UHC medical plan due to COBRA or state continuation of coverage. 
 

End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD): You, your spouse or your covered dependent qualify for Medicare due to ESRD and you are an 
active or retired employee. The UHC plan will be primary payer for the first 30 months. Beginning with the 31st month, Medicare 
will be the primary payer. 
 

Failure to Enroll in Medicare: if you, your spouse, or your dependent do not enroll in Medicare Parts A and/or B during the person’s 
initial Medicare enrollment period, or the person opts out of coverage, the person may be subject to Medicare late enrollment 
penalties, which can cause a delay in coverage and result in higher Medicare premiums when the person does enroll. It can also 
result in a reduction in coverage under Medicare Parts A and B. If you are planning to retire or terminate employment and you will 
be eligible for COBRA, State continuation, or retiree coverage under the UHC medical plan, you should enroll in Medicare before 
you terminate employment to avoid penalties and to receive the maximum coverage under Medicare. Please consult Medicare or 
Social Security Administration for more information. 
Some brief Coordination of Benefits information for Medicare Eligible individuals and the UHC health plan is attached. The 
attachment is not all encompassing regarding this topic. Please review the entire Summary Plan Description posted on the 
MyBenefits website and most importantly contact Medicare or Social Security Administration to discuss your Medicare choices and  
provide them the applicable UHC Secondary Plan information. 

http://www.medicare.gov/
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Assistance with Medicare Questions: 
For more information on Medicare’s rules and regulations, contact Medicare at 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227) 
or at www.medicare.gov. You may also contact the Social Security Administration 1-800-772-1213, at www.ssa.gov, 
or call your local Social Security Administration office. 

 

Q. What if I marry or remarry or register a domestic partnership, after I retired? 
A. A participating retiree who remarries or registers a Domestic Partner may add the new dependent within 30 days of 
the event to his or her existing medical or dental coverage (proof of marriage/domestic partnership will be required). 

Q. What should I be aware of regarding Domestic Partner coverage and Medicare? 
A. 

 Domestic Partners may be subject to a Medicare Part B late enrollment penalty if they fail to enroll in 
Medicare Part B when first eligible 

 Under Federal law, the Medicare Secondary Payer Rules do not apply to Domestic Partners covered under a 
group health plan 

 Therefore, Medicare is always the Primary Plan for a person covered as a Domestic Partner, and UHC is the 
Secondary Plan 

 However, when Medicare coverage is due to disability, the Medicare Secondary Payer rules, as applicable, 
will apply 

Telephone Contacts and Other Details: 
Coverage Type Website Customer Service Group # 

Health - United Healthcare  www.myUHC.com 

 

 

 

 

 

UHC/OptumRx Home 

Delivery 

Prescription Program 

833-760-7892 
 

Evelyn Giraldo                        Leslie Smalley 
Evelyn_Giraldo@uhc.com   Leslie_Smalley@uhc.com 
Tel: 561-233-5474                 Tel: 561-233-5463 
 
 
Tel: 833-760-7892 

929250 

Dental – Solstice 

Benefits, Inc. 

MySmile365.com/Solstice 855-494-0098 13000 

Life Insurance 

Securian Financial 

www.lifebenefits.com 866-293-6047 33696 

Risk Management 

Department 

www.pbcgov.com/mybenef

its 

561-233-5400 

Email: BCCMyBenefits@pbcgov.org 

 

Billing Company 

- Solstice - 

www.MySolstice.net 855-494-0098 

Florida Retirement 

System (FRS) 

www.MyFRS.com 844-377-1888 

Email: retirement@dms.myflorida.com 

Valery Insurance 

Agency 

www.valeryagency.com 800-330-8445 

Medicare 

Social Security Administration 

www.medicare.gov 

www.ssa.gov 

800-MEDICARE 

800-772-1213 
 
In the event of a conflict between this handout and the applicable Florida State Statute, Florida Law shall dictate the insurance and coverage provisions, related to eligibility 
for retiree benefits. Should there be a conflict between this handout and the applicable Group Insurance policy and/or certificate, the policy/certificate shall dictate the 
insurance and coverage provisions, exclusions, all limitations and terms of coverage. 
In accordance with the provision of ADA, this document may be requested in an alternative format. If you have any questions or would like to receive additional benefit 
plan materials, please contact your Group Insurance office or representative. 

http://www.medicare.gov/
http://www.ssa.gov/
http://www.myuhc.com/
http://www.mysolstice.net/
http://www.lifebenefits.com/
http://www.pbcgov.com/mybenefits
http://www.pbcgov.com/mybenefits
mailto:BCCMyBenefits@pbcgov.org
http://www.mysolstice.net/
http://www.myfrs.com/
mailto:retirement@dms.myflorida.com
http://www.valeryagency.com/
http://www.medicare.gov/

